Be Healthy School Grant Program Content

Be Healthy School Grant Program

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama will make available $300,000 and award grants up to $10,000 to schools across the state that enroll students in grades K-12. The grants are for the implementation of school-based health and wellness programs that emphasize increased physical and nutritional education during the school year. Grant requests are generally accepted between May-July of each year.

Guidelines for Consideration

To be eligible for funding a school must:

  • Be located in Alabama
  • Serve students in grades K-12
  • Must be public or private school
  • Awards are payable to schools only

Not Eligible for Support

  • Sports leagues or teams of individual schools
  • Any activity deemed inappropriate by BCBSAL

How to Apply

All funding requests must be submitted online.

Apply for Funding



For additional information about The Be Healthy School Grant Program, please contact Heidi Ramey at or 205-220-6881 or or 205-220-7821.


In our commitment to help prevent childhood obesity, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama’s Be Healthy School Grant Program supports schools throughout Alabama. The grants are for the implementation of school-based health and wellness programs, emphasizing increased physical activity or nutritional education during the school year.

NOTE: The following schools were chosen to receive the grant during the 2022-2023 school year.

School City County
A.H. Watwood Elementary Childersburg Talladega
Barrett Elementary Birmingham Jefferson
Brilliant Marion Marion
Cedar Bluff Cedar Bluff Cherokee
Chapman Middle Huntsville Madison
Clanton Elementary Clanton Chilton
Clay Chalkville Middle Trussville Jefferson
Coppinville Junior High Enterprise Coffee
Crossville Middle Crossville DeKalb
Dauphin Junior High Enterprise Coffee
Dozier Elementary Montgomery Montgomery
Dunbar Magnet School Mobile Mobile
East Limestone High Athens Limestone
Eutaw Primary Eutaw Greene
Forest Avenue Academic Magnet Montgomery Montgomery
Gulf Shores Elementary Gulf Shores Baldwin
Gulf Shores Middle Gulf Shores Baldwin
Hayden Middle Oneonta Blount
Highland Park Elementary Muscle Shoals Colbert
Hubbertville School/td> Fayette Fayette
John P. Powell Middle Five Points Chambers
Madison Elementary Madison Madison
Marshall Christian Albertville Marshall
Montevallo Middle Montevallo Shelby
Ragland High School Ragland St. Clair
South Dale Middle Pinckard Dale
Thompson Intermediate Alabaster Shelby
Warrior Elementary Warrior Jefferson
Wilsonville Elementary Wilsonville Shelby
Woodland Elementary Woodland Randolph
W.O. Parmer Elementary Greenville Butler


To watch the 2022 recipients of the Be Healthy School Grant receive their award, please choose a school below: